Draft — pending qualified review

This guide has not yet been reviewed by a qualified professional (real-estate lawyer, licensed mortgage professional, or tax adviser). It is published for review only and is not indexed by search engines. Do not rely on it for a purchase decision — verify every figure with your lawyer, lender, and the builder.

Findle Learn · Buying process

The pre-construction buying process in Ontario

From first search to keys in hand: the milestones, the documents, and the decisions — in the order they actually happen.

Author: Findle Global Editorial TeamReviewer: Pending qualified reviewChecked: November 6, 2026

The short answer

You research and compare, register for a release, submit a worksheet for the unit you want, sign an Agreement of Purchase and Sale (APS) after a lawyer reviews it, pay staged deposits during construction, inspect the home before occupancy, and close twice if it is a condo — interim occupancy, then final closing when title transfers. Your mortgage only funds at final closing, and you re-qualify for it then, not on signing day. [FCAC, preparing for a mortgage]

1. The milestone checklist

Every pre-construction purchase follows the same spine. The dates and dollar amounts change by project; the order does not.

MilestoneWhat happensDocumentsDecision
ResearchCompare projects, builders, prices, and deposit structures.Price lists, floor plans, site plansShortlist 2–3 projects that fit budget and timeline.
Registration / VIPRegister for a release to get pricing and floor plans first.Registration form, IDWhich release to attend; which unit types to target.
WorksheetYou record the unit you want and your details; the builder allocates units from worksheets. A worksheet is not the purchase contract.Worksheet, deposit cheque detailsFirst and second choice of unit; confirm the deposit total.
AgreementYou sign the APS. A lawyer reviews it first — see §2.APS, disclosure statement (condo), Condominium Buyer's Guide (condo)Sign, negotiate a term, or walk away.
DepositsStaged payments to the builder's lawyer or trustee, on the schedule in the APS.Deposit schedule, certified cheques, receiptsConfirm each instalment date and the exact payee.
ConstructionThe builder builds; you get updates. Delays happen — the APS sets out what notice you get.Builder updates, Tarion warranty informationTrack the closing date; keep your financing file current.
Inspection (PDI)Before occupancy, walk through the home and record deficiencies.PDI form, deficiency listRecord every deficiency in writing before you move in.
Interim occupancy (condo only)You may move in and pay the builder a monthly occupancy fee. You do not own the unit yet.Occupancy notice, fee statementBudget for the fee; it builds no equity.
Final closingThe building registers, title transfers, your mortgage funds, and you pay land transfer tax and closing costs.Final closing statement, mortgage instructions, Tarion enrolmentRe-qualify with your lender; bring the balance in certified funds.

Key takeaway: the purchase is a multi-year sequence, not a single transaction. The two moments that decide it are the lawyer review before signing and the re-qualification before final closing.

2. Agreement & lawyer review

The Agreement of Purchase and Sale is the contract. It sets the price, the deposit schedule, the closing dates, and what happens if either side cannot close. Have a real-estate lawyer review it before you sign — after signing, your options narrow sharply.

For a new condominium bought from a developer, Ontario law gives you a 10-day rescission right: you may cancel the agreement within 10 days of the later of receiving the fully executed APS or the disclosure statement and Condominium Buyer's Guide, by written notice. [Condominium Act, 1998, s. 73]

That cooling-off right is condo-only. There is no statutory cooling-off period for a new freehold home in Ontario. Do not sign a freehold APS assuming you have 10 days to change your mind — the terms of the APS itself govern. [Condominium Act, 1998]

Ask your lawyer to confirm, for your specific APS: the deposit amounts and dates, the closing and occupancy dates and how delays are handled, the assignment terms, development-charge and levy caps, and what happens if the appraisal comes in below the contract price. Assignment terms were unpublished for 8 of the 20 projects Findle verified in November 2026 — if your APS does not state them, treat that as an open question, not a yes.

Key takeaway: the lawyer review is the cheapest insurance in the whole transaction. It happens before signing, not after.

3. Deposits — worked example

Deposits are paid in instalments during construction and applied toward your down payment at final closing. The schedule is set by the builder and written into the APS — it varies by project, so always read the schedule for the project you are buying.

Worked example — North Gate Trails, Ajax (real listing, verified Nov 3, 2026)

North Gate Trails — Ajax(Lakeview Homes) — a 30' detached home priced $799,990–$889,990, net of HST for qualifying purchasers. Deposit: $100,000 total, staged to 150 days — $10,000 on signing, $15,000 at 30 days, $15,000 at 60 days, then $20,000 at 90, 120, and 150 days. Cheques payable to Estates of Northgate Inc.Tentative closings from October 2027. Prices from the builder's November 3, 2026 price lists.

StepAmountRunning total
On signing$10,000$10,000
30 days$15,000$25,000
60 days$15,000$40,000
90 days$20,000$60,000
120 days$20,000$80,000
150 days$20,000$100,000
At final closing (on a $799,990 purchase)Balance $699,990 + closing costs—

On the lowest 30' price, the $100,000 deposit is 12.5% of the purchase price paid before closing. Closing costs for this project are capped at $8,500 + HST for the 30' detached, per the builder's FAQ — land transfer tax is separate and depends on the price and municipality, so it is not included in this example. The price is already net of the enhanced HST rebate for qualifying purchasers: do not add a further rebate on top.

Schedules differ widely. The same builder's back-to-back towns at North Gate Trails take $70,000 (7 × $10,000 to 180 days), while UpTown Woodbridge — Vaughancharges $120,000 on a standard 180-day schedule for a 32' single — or $130,000 on an accelerated 60-day schedule. Derry Lane — Mississauga towns take 5 × $20,000 ($100,000) to 210 days. Ask which schedule applies to your unit; two buyers in the same project can be on different schedules.

Key takeaway: deposits secure the purchase. They do not secure the financing — that is a separate approval, on a separate timeline.

4. Financing & the HST rebate

The mortgage rules that decide whether you close

Your mortgage does not fund until final closing, and you must qualify for it then. Lenders qualify you at the higher of your contract rate plus 2% or 5.25% — the stress test. [OSFI, minimum qualifying rate] For an insured mortgage, housing costs must generally stay within a gross debt service ratio of 39% of gross income and total debt service of 44% (CMHC, insured-mortgage ratios), with at least one borrower at a 600 credit score (CMHC minimum). [FCAC, preparing for a mortgage]

Minimum down payments are tiered by price: 5% on the first $500,000, 10% on the portion from $500,000 to $1.5 million, and 20% at $1.5 million or more. The insured-mortgage cap rose from $1 million to $1.5 million on December 15, 2024, and 30-year amortizations became available to first-time buyers and buyers of newly constructed homes, with a premium surcharge. [FCAC, down payment]

Rate context, checked November 6, 2026: the Bank of Canada policy rate is 2.50% after the October 28, 2026 increase, and bank prime is 4.70%. The next Bank of Canada decision is December 9, 2026. [Bank of Canada, policy rate] Your contract rate is not the policy rate — get a current quote from your lender or broker, and read the full qualification guide in How to Qualify for a Preconstruction Property Loan.

The HST rebate: three distinct streams

Ontario buyers in 2026 face three separate rebate streams. They are not the same program, and their maxima do not add together.

StreamWhoMaximumWindow
Ontario enhanced relief (ENHR + ONHAP)All eligible buyers of new homesUp to $130,000 combined ($80,000 provincial + $50,000 federal portion)APS Apr 1, 2026 – Mar 31, 2027
Federal first-time buyer GST rebate (Bill C-4)Eligible first-time buyers onlyUp to $50,000 (100% of GST to $1M, phasing out to $1.5M)APS Mar 20, 2025 – before 2031
Ontario first-time buyer provincial rebateEligible first-time buyers in OntarioUp to $80,000 (100% of the provincial part to $1M)Same eligibility window as the federal first-time buyer rebate

The all-buyer enhanced relief is in force retroactive to April 1, 2026: Ontario Bill 114 (Royal Assent May 12, 2026) rebates the 8% provincial part (ENHR, up to $80,000) and the federal top-up Bill C-26 (Royal Assent June 18, 2026) covers the 5% federal part (ONHAP, up to $50,000). Construction must generally begin by December 31, 2028 and be substantially complete by December 31, 2031. Tiers: up to $1 million the full 13% is rebated; $1–$1.5 million the $130,000 cap holds; $1.5–$1.85 million it tapers to $24,000; above $1.85 million the existing $24,000 applies. [CRA, Memorandum 19-3-10]

The federal first-time buyer rebate became law with Bill C-4 (Royal Assent March 12, 2026); the CRA has accepted applications since March 17, 2026. [CRA, Memorandum 19-3-10] The Ontario first-time buyer provincial rebate covers the provincial part alongside it. [CRA, who can apply]

Do not add the three maxima together.The Ontario New Home Affordability Payment is reduced by any federal rebate you are entitled to — it fills the gap the federal rebates leave rather than paying the same tax twice. And if a builder quotes a price “net of HST rebate,” that price already reflects the relief: never add a further rebate on top of a net price. Eligibility turns on your contract, the dates, and your use of the home — confirm it with your lawyer and tax adviser before counting on any amount.

5. Construction, inspection & occupancy

While the home is built, the builder sends construction updates. Delays are common on large projects; your APS sets out what notice the builder must give and what your options are. Keep your financing file current through the wait — income changes, new debts, or parental leave can all affect qualification at closing, and lenders re-verify income then.

Before you take occupancy, walk through the home in a pre-delivery inspection (PDI) and record every deficiency in writing. Tarion administers Ontario's mandatory new-home warranty. [Tarion]

For a condo, interim occupancy is the phase between the unit being habitable and the building being registered: you may move in and pay the builder a monthly occupancy fee — interest on the unpaid balance, estimated property taxes, and projected condo fees — but you do not own the unit and pay no mortgage yet, because title has not transferred. [Condominium Act, 1998, ss. 80–81] The fee builds no equity. Freehold homes do not have interim occupancy; they close once, on title transfer.

6. Final closing & title transfer

Final closing happens when the building is registered (condo) or the home is complete (freehold): title transfers to you, your mortgage funds, and you pay land transfer tax and closing costs. The balance of the purchase price — contract price minus deposits already paid — is due in certified funds.

Re-run your qualification six to nine months before the projected closing date. If the appraisal comes in below the contract price, the lender funds against the lower appraised value and you cover the shortfall in cash. That is the single most common closing-day surprise in pre-construction — plan a cash buffer for it rather than discovering it at the lawyer's office.

7. Projects to compare

Real listings with verified deposit structures, as checked November 5–6, 2026. Prices change — confirm with the builder before relying on them.

  • North Gate Trails — Ajax — freehold towns from $559,990, detached from $799,990 (net of HST). Deposits $70,000–$120,000 by home type.
  • UpTown Woodbridge — Vaughan — freehold towns from $699,990, singles to $1,749,990. Standard and accelerated deposit schedules.
  • Five Oaks — Oakville — freehold towns from $799,106 (net of HST rebate); singles from $1,549,990. Deposit milestones not published — ask the sales centre.
  • Soleil — Milton — freehold towns $822,115–$886,717 (net of HST rebate); three quick-move-in homes ready March 2027.

8. Limitations & what is unverified

  • Assignment terms were unpublished for 8 of the 20 projects Findle verified in November 2026. This guide does not state assignment rules; ask your lawyer what your APS allows.
  • Occupancy and closing dates were unpublished for several verified projects (including UpTown Woodbridge, Abacot Hill, St Davids, Founders Walk, and North Hill). Dates in this guide come only from the projects named.
  • Five Oaks deposit milestonescould not be extracted from the builder's scanned grand-opening price list. The guide does not invent them.
  • Navera's beds, sizes, and deposit figurescome from two agreeing broker pages citing the builder's September 2026 feature sheet — not from the builder's own site. They need broker-portal confirmation.
  • Rates and rules change. The Bank of Canada decides next on December 9, 2026; the enhanced HST relief window closes March 31, 2027. Re-check both before you sign.
  • This guide covers Ontario only. It is educational and is not mortgage, tax, or legal advice.

Sources

Related Findle reading: Pre-Construction Buyer Guide (2026) · How to Qualify for a Preconstruction Property Loan · Freehold vs. condo townhouse

Your next step

Run your numbers in the deposit schedule builder, then talk to a Findle Expert about the project and the closing timeline that fits your budget.

This guide is educational and is not mortgage, tax, or legal advice. Speak with a licensed mortgage professional and a real-estate lawyer before making decisions. Figures checked November 6, 2026.