Draft — pending qualified review

This guide has not yet been reviewed by a qualified professional (real-estate lawyer, licensed mortgage professional, or tax adviser). It is published for review only and is not indexed by search engines. Do not rely on it for a purchase decision — verify every figure with your lawyer, lender, and the builder.

Findle Learn · Ownership

Freehold vs. condo townhouse

Two townhouses can look identical from the street and work completely differently as purchases. The difference is not the building — it is what you own, what you pay every month, and who fixes what.

Author: Findle Global Editorial TeamReviewer: Pending qualified reviewChecked: November 6, 2026

The short answer

Freehold means you own the lot and the building: no monthly fee to a condominium corporation, and all maintenance is yours. Condo means you own a unit plus a share of the common elements, and a corporation — run by a board elected by owners — maintains the shared parts and collects a monthly fee to pay for them, including a reserve fund. [Condominium Act, 1998] Neither is better in general. The right choice depends on how much maintenance you want to do yourself, how much monthly cost you will accept, and what the specific project charges.

1. What the words mean

Freehold. You own the land and the building on it, outright. There is no condominium corporation, no declaration, and no monthly fee to a corporation. Your costs are your own: property tax, insurance, utilities, and every repair.

Condo. You own your unit, and a share of the common elements — the land, structure, hallways, roof, and shared systems — together with the other owners, through a condominium corporation. The corporation is governed by a declaration and by-laws and run by a board of directors elected by owners. It maintains the common elements, holds a reserve fund for major repairs, and collects a monthly fee from every unit. [Condominium Act, 1998, ss. 84–94]

POTL (parcel of tied land). A middle case that confuses buyers: the home itself is freehold, but the lot is tied to a common-elements condominium corporation, so you pay a monthly fee for the shared elements (typically roads and shared services) without paying a condo fee on the unit itself. The structure is set out in the common-elements condominium provisions of the Act. [Condominium Act, 1998, Part X]

A townhouse can be any of the three. “Townhouse” describes the shape of the home; freehold, condo, and POTL describe who owns what. Always ask which one a listing is — the marketing rarely says it clearly.

2. Side by side

FactorFreeholdCondoPOTL town
What you ownThe lot and the buildingYour unit + a share of the common elementsThe home (freehold) on a lot tied to a common-elements condo
Monthly fee to a corporationNoneCondo fee, set by the corporation budgetPOTL fee for shared elements (no unit condo fee)
Exterior & roofYours to maintain and pay forCorporation maintains (common elements)Yours, except the shared elements the fee covers
Rules you live underMunicipal by-laws onlyDeclaration, by-laws, and rules of the corporationCommon-elements condo declaration, for the shared parts
Cooling-off on a new purchaseNo statutory cooling-off10-day rescission right (see §5)No statutory cooling-off (freehold home)
Interim occupancyDoes not apply — single closingApplies — occupancy fee, then final closingDoes not apply — single closing
WarrantyTarion administers Ontario's mandatory new-home warranty for both freehold and condo new homes. [Tarion]

3. Monthly fees, honestly

A condo fee pays for the common elements and the reserve fund — the money set aside for major repairs like a roof or elevator. The fee is set by the corporation's budget, and it can change. A fee that looks low on a new building can rise once the first reserve-fund study lands. [Condominium Act, 1998, ss. 93–94]

A POTL fee is smaller but not zero. The one verified example on Findle is Derry Lane — Mississauga (Ballymore Homes, Mississauga): towns carry a $150 per month POTL fee, verified against the builder's October 13, 2026 portal price lists. That is $1,800 a year, on top of property tax, insurance, and utilities — and it is a fee, not a builder incentive.

Freehold has no monthly fee to a corporation — but that does not mean no monthly cost. Property tax, insurance, and utilities apply to every home, and a freehold owner funds every repair out of pocket, including the big ones a condo reserve fund would cover. No condo fee amount is published for the condo projects in this guide: confirm the fee in the disclosure statement before you compare monthly costs.

Key takeaway: compare total monthly carrying cost, not just the headline price. A cheaper condo with a high fee can cost more per month than a pricier freehold.

4. Who maintains what

Freehold: everything is yours — roof, exterior, windows, driveway, landscaping, snow clearing, and every system inside. You choose the contractor and the timing, and you pay the bill.

Condo: you maintain the inside of your unit; the corporation maintains the common elements — structure, roof, hallways, elevators, shared systems — and enforces the declaration and rules. You give up some control over the exterior in exchange for not doing the work yourself. [Condominium Act, 1998, ss. 89–91]

POTL:you maintain the home itself; the fee covers the shared elements only. Read the declaration to see exactly which parts are shared — “shared” usually means roads and services, not your roof.

Insurance follows the same split, in general terms: a freehold owner insures the whole home, while a condo owner typically insures the unit's contents and improvements and the corporation insures the building. Confirm the exact split with your insurer and the corporation's insurance — do not assume it from this guide.

5. Cooling-off: condo-only

For a new condominium bought from a developer, Ontario law gives you a 10-day rescission right: you may cancel the agreement within 10 days of the later of receiving the fully executed Agreement of Purchase and Sale or the disclosure statement and Condominium Buyer's Guide, by written notice. [Condominium Act, 1998, s. 73]

There is no statutory cooling-off period for a new freehold home in Ontario. That includes freehold townhouses and POTL towns. If you sign a freehold APS, the terms of the APS itself govern — do not assume you have 10 days to change your mind. This is the single most common misunderstanding in the freehold-versus-condo choice, and the reason a lawyer should review the APS before you sign, not after.

6. Interim occupancy: condo-only

Interim occupancy exists only for condominiums. It is the phase between the unit being habitable and the condominium being registered: you may move in and pay the builder a monthly occupancy fee — interest on the unpaid balance, estimated property taxes, and projected condo fees — but you do not own the unit and pay no mortgage yet, because title has not transferred. [Condominium Act, 1998, ss. 80–81]

Freehold and POTL homes do not have interim occupancy. They close once: title transfers, your mortgage funds, and you pay land transfer tax and closing costs on the same day. That makes the freehold closing simpler to plan — but it also means there is no “move in early and sort the mortgage later” phase.

7. Worked example — two real towns

Same buyer, same city, same month — two verified listings, two ownership structures. Prices as checked November 5–6, 2026; confirm with the builder before relying on them.

FactorDerry Lane — POTL townsFive Oaks — freehold towns
ProjectDerry Lane — Mississauga — Ballymore Homes, MississaugaFive Oaks — Oakville — Caivan, Oakville
Price (net of HST rebate)Back-to-back towns $794,990–$829,990Freehold towns from $799,106
Monthly fee to a corporation$150/mo POTL ($1,800/year)$0 — no corporation
DepositsTowns 5 × $20,000 ($100,000) to 210 daysMilestones not published — ask the sales centre
ClosingTowns July 2028; single closingAshford towns Sept 2028; single closing
Cooling-offNone (freehold home)None (freehold home)

The headline prices are within $5,000 of each other at the low end. The real difference is $1,800 a year in POTL fees at Derry Lane against $0 at Five Oaks — and who maintains the shared elements. Neither is the “cheaper” choice without knowing the rest of the carrying cost: property tax, insurance, and utilities differ by municipality and by home.

8. Trade-offs

Freehold fits if you want full control over the home and the lot, no monthly corporation fee, and no declaration telling you what you can change outside — and you are willing to maintain everything yourself and fund the big repairs.

Condo fitsif you would rather pay a monthly fee than maintain the exterior, roof, and shared systems yourself — and you accept the corporation's rules, the fee, and the 10-day rescission window as the trade for that.

POTL fits if you want a freehold home but are comfortable with a small monthly fee for shared roads and services. Read the declaration first: the fee buys shared elements, not maintenance of your home.

Key takeaway:“best” depends on the buyer, not the building. Compare the same buyer's total monthly cost and maintenance appetite — not the headline price alone.

9. Projects to compare

Real listings, ownership as verified November 5–6, 2026.

10. Limitations & what is unverified

  • No condo fee amount is publishedfor the condo projects in this guide. Monthly condo fees vary by project and are set in the corporation's budget — confirm the fee in the disclosure statement.
  • The Derry Lane $150/mo POTL fee is the only verified monthly-fee figure used here (builder price lists, Oct 13, 2026). It is an example, not a typical fee.
  • Assignment terms were unpublished for 8 of the 20 projects Findle verified in November 2026. This guide does not state assignment rules; ask your lawyer what your APS allows.
  • Insurance splitsin §4 are general descriptions. Confirm the exact split between your policy and the corporation's policy with your insurer.
  • Development-charge treatment was unpublished for several verified projects. It is not stated in this guide.
  • This guide covers Ontario only. It is educational and is not mortgage, tax, or legal advice.

Sources

  • Condominium Act, 1998 (Ontario) — s. 73 rescission (condo-only); ss. 80–81 interim occupancy; ss. 84–94 common expenses and reserve fund; ss. 89–91 maintenance; Part X common-elements condominium corporations.
  • Tarion — Ontario's new-home warranty administrator (freehold and condo).
  • Findle F02 verification log (Nov 5–6, 2026) — Derry Lane $150/mo POTL, deposits, and closings verified against Ballymore portal price lists (Oct 13, 2026); Five Oaks prices and closings verified against Caivan portal documents (Oct 2026).

Related Findle reading: The pre-construction buying process in Ontario · Pre-Construction Buyer Guide (2026) · How to Qualify for a Preconstruction Property Loan

Your next step

Compare a freehold and a condo town side by side with real numbers: open Derry Lane and Five Oaks, then talk to a Findle Expert about which ownership structure fits your budget and your appetite for maintenance.

This guide is educational and is not mortgage, tax, or legal advice. Speak with a licensed mortgage professional and a real-estate lawyer before making decisions. Figures checked November 6, 2026.