Worked comparison — no client involved, no outcome invented
This case study compares one real set of builder terms against a labelled counterfactual: the same home, at the same price, without those terms. The counterfactual is illustrative — it is not a real project, and its unpublished amounts are shown as unpublished, not guessed. No client bought either version, and no saving is claimed beyond the figures the builder put in writing.
Findle Case Studies
Incentive versus total purchase cost
OG Urban Towns from $399,990, with the incentives — or the same $399,990 without them. The quantified difference is about $11,290–$13,511. The unquantified difference is the bigger one.
By Findle Global Editorial Team · Checked Nov 6, 2026 · Sources: Brightstone preview price list, Jul 17, 2026; Brightstone broker email, Oct 30, 2026
The short answer
A promotion is not automatically better value — but it is not automatically worthless either. At OG Urban Towns, the October 30, 2026 broker terms put real numbers on the table: development charges capped at $0, closing costs capped at $5,000, free assignment, a free layout upgrade worth $10,000, and one year of free maintenance. Against the same $399,990 home without those terms, the parts with a published figure are worth about $11,290–$13,511. The parts without a figure — uncapped development charges and uncapped closing costs — cannot be priced from any published source, which is exactly why the caps have value: they replace an open-ended liability with a known number. Compare like for like, term by term, and do not let the headline price do the comparison for you.
1. The situation
OG Urban Towns — Mississauga is a condo-town project in Cooksville, Mississauga, by Brightstone. The entry unit is $399,990, 1–3 bedrooms, 566–1,540 sq ft, occupancy April 2028. On October 30, 2026, Brightstone confirmed a set of purchase terms in writing to brokers: 10% deposit within 180 days, underground parking included, one year of free maintenance, a free layout upgrade, development charges capped at $0, closing costs capped at $5,000, free assignments, and the right to lease during occupancy. The question this case study answers is narrow: what are those terms worth, against the same home bought without them?
2. The dated options
| Option | Price | Source & date |
|---|---|---|
| A — OG Urban Towns, with the Oct 30 terms | From $399,990 | Brightstone broker email, Oct 30, 2026 (confirmed in writing); preview price list, Jul 17, 2026 |
| B — The same $399,990 home, without the terms | From $399,990 | Illustrative counterfactual. Not a real project. Same price, same unit, standard terms. |
The price is held constant on purpose. The only thing that changes between A and B is the terms — so any difference in total cost is the value of the terms.
3. The constraints
- One unit, one price. The comparison uses the entry unit at $399,990. Deposit on that unit is 10% within 180 days — $39,999 — under both options, because the deposit schedule is a payment term, not one of the incentives being tested.
- Only the Oct 30 terms count. An older July 17, 2026 price list shows a different deposit schedule (17.5% staged). The October email is newer and confirmed in writing, so the 10% terms are the ones used here.
- The parking threshold matters. Underground parking is included at a $50,000 value — but not for units under $400,000. The $399,990 entry unit does not get it under either option, so parking changes nothing in this comparison. On a unit priced $400,000 or more, it would.
- Unpublished stays unpublished.Where the counterfactual's amount is not in any published source, this page says so instead of inventing a figure.
4. The sourced comparison
| Term | A — with the Oct 30 terms | B — without them (illustrative) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purchase price | $399,990 | $399,990 | $0 |
| Deposit | 10% within 180 days ($39,999) | 10% within 180 days ($39,999) | $0 — held constant |
| Development charges | Capped at $0 | Uncapped — amount unpublished | Cannot be priced. The cap removes an open-ended liability. |
| Closing costs | Capped at $5,000 | Uncapped — amount unpublished | Cannot be priced. The cap is a ceiling, not a discount. |
| Assignment | Free | Fee unpublished — and permission itself not stated | Cannot be priced. |
| Layout upgrade | Free ($10,000 value, per the Oct 30 email) | $10,000 if purchased | $10,000 |
| Maintenance, first year | Free for one year | Payable from day one — see estimate below | ~$1,290–$3,511 (estimate) |
| Underground parking | Not included on this unit — inclusion starts at $400,000+ | Not included ($50,000 extra, Jul list) | $0 on the entry unit |
| Right to lease during occupancy | Included | Not stated | Unpriced — matters to an investor, worth nothing on paper to an end user. |
| Land transfer tax | $4,475 | $4,475 | $0 — same price, same tax |
The first year of maintenance, estimated
The July 17, 2026 price list puts the maintenance fee at $0.19 per sq ft. That fee may have changed since July, so the value of one free year is an estimate, not a builder figure:
Smallest unit, 566 sq ft: $0.19 × 566 = $107.54/month → about $1,290.48 for the year
Largest unit, 1,540 sq ft: $0.19 × 1,540 = $292.60/month → about $3,511.20 for the year
Confirm the current fee with the builder — the free year is worth whatever the fee is when occupancy arrives, not what it was in July.
Land transfer tax — the same on both sides
Ontario's land transfer tax is graduated: 0.5% on the first $55,000, 1% from $55,000 to $250,000, 1.5% from $250,000 to $400,000. On $399,990 that is $275.00 + $1,950.00 + $2,250.00 = $4,475.00 — identical under both options, because the price is identical. An eligible first-time buyer would claim up to $4,000 back, leaving $475.00. [Ontario Ministry of Finance — first-time buyer refunds]
Adding it up
Quantified difference (Option A vs Option B)
Free layout upgrade: $10,000
First year of maintenance free (estimated): ~$1,290–$3,511
Total quantified: about $11,290–$13,511
On top of that sit the unquantified terms: $0 development charges against an uncapped amount, and a $5,000 closing-cost cap against an uncapped amount. No published source prices the counterfactual side of either cap, so no total can be honestly stated. The caps are worth certainty as much as money — and for a buyer whose deposit is $39,999, an uncapped charge is the risk that matters most.
5. The decision
There is no decision in this case study, because there is no buyer. No one chose Option A over Option B, and nothing here recommends the project. The comparison exists to show how to weigh an incentive package: separate what has a published figure from what only has a cap, and do not let the headline price stand in for either.
6. Current status
As checked November 6, 2026: the terms above are the October 30, 2026 broker terms, confirmed in writing, for a project with occupancy in April 2028. The entry price remains $399,990 on the builder's documents. A third-party VIP page advertises $379,990 “after rebate” — that figure is not used here: its rebate arithmetic is unexplained, and the same page conflicts with the builder's list on occupancy, sizes, address and deposit terms. Confirm the current terms with the builder before relying on them.
7. Limitations
- The counterfactual cannot be fully priced.Development charges, closing costs and assignment fees without the Oct 30 terms are unpublished. The quantified $11,290–$13,511 is a floor on the package's value, not a total.
- The maintenance estimate rests on a July fee. The $0.19 per sq ft figure is from the July 17, 2026 price list; the fee at occupancy may differ. The free year itself is confirmed by the October email.
- The deposit payee is unconfirmed.The July list names Eizenman & Dale LLP, In Trust, but that predates the October terms and may have been superseded. Confirm before issuing cheques.
- The street number is unresolved. The price list says 2532 Argyle Rd; third-party pages say 2512 Argyle Rd. The project, price and terms are unaffected.
- Parking has a threshold. The $50,000 parking inclusion applies only to units of $400,000 or more. It is worth nothing on the $399,990 entry unit in either option.
- No mortgage is modelled.Qualification, rates and the amount borrowed depend on the buyer's file and the lender.
8. What another buyer can learn
- Separate the figure from the cap. A $10,000 layout upgrade is a figure — you can add it up. A $0 development-charge cap is a ceiling — its value is the risk it removes, and it cannot be added up from any published source.
- Read the threshold, not just the headline.Parking “included ($50,000 value)” is worth $0 on a $399,990 unit because inclusion starts at $400,000. The fine print is the term.
- Newer terms beat older ones. The October email superseded the July deposit schedule. A term sheet is only as good as its date.
- A promotion is not automatically better value. Add up what has a figure, name what does not, and compare the totals — including the totals you cannot finish. If the unfinished part is the biggest part, say so.
Your next step
Read the closing-costs guide for the full checklist of what is due on closing day — capped or not.
The project: OG Urban Towns — Mississauga